Museum and excursions

In the third balcony of the Alexandrinsky Theatre you can see a unique exposition dedicated to the history of the oldest Russian drama company – the Museum of Russian Drama.

Eight halls present stage costumes, furniture and properties were created based on the sketches of the greatest artists: Golovin, Bilibin, Altman and others.

In 2006, the exposition opened in the third balcony of the Alexandrinsky Theatre. The author of the concept is professor A.A. Chepurov, the Counselor of the Artistic Director, Doctor of Fine Arts. Design project by M.V. Dynay.

Unique stage costumes, decorations, furniture and properties of the 19th-20th centuries were created based on the sketches of the greatest artists: A. Golovin, I. Bilibin, N. Altman, N. Akimov, V. Dmitriev, G. Rudy, M. Kitaev and others and are presented in eight halls. Performances: Boris Godunov by A.S. Pushkin (1934) and Peter the Great by A.Y. Tolstoy (1935) staged by B.V. Sushkevich, Suvorov by I.V. Bechterev and A.V. Razumovsky (director A.A. Muzyl, 1939), Hamlet by W. Shakespeare (director G.M. Kozintsev, 1954), The Inspector General by N.V. Gogol (1836, 1897, 1936), Dead Souls (director N.M. Sheiko, 1974), A Nest of Gentelfolk by I.S. Turgenev (director A.A. Muzyl, 1941), The Great Czar by V.A. Soloviyov (director L.S. Viviyen, 1945), The Optimistic Tragedy by Vs. Vishnevsky (director G. A. Tovstonogov, 1955), The Run by M.A. Bulgakov (director L.S. Viviyen, 1958), Don Juan by Moliere (1910) and The Masquerade by M.U. Lermontov (1917) staged by Vs.E. Meyerhold; performances about Russian writers’ lives: (The Autumn in Boldino by U.M. Svirin, director R.A. Goryaev, 1969), Lermontov by B.A. Lavrenev, director B.M. Dmohovsky, 1953); Elegia by P. Pavlovsky – on the basis of I.S. Turgenev’s letters to Savina, director I.S. Olshvanger, 1975).

From the very beginning of its existence, the Russian theatre laboured to show the bright pages of the Russian history on its stage. The first Russian actors were coming out onto the stage in the roles of legendary Kiev Princes and Varangian ancestors of the Russian monarchic dynasties. Kiy, Khorev, Ryurik, Sinav, and Truvor… They were impersonated in the 18th century by Feodor Volkov, and Ivan Dmitirevsky, and later on, by Petr Plavilshcikov. Subsequently, from under the quill of the first Russian dramatist Sumarokov, False Dmitry with his satraps and his persecutors came onto the stage. Catherine II herself wrote a play about the first tzar-ruler Oleg, in which she was polemizing with her political and esthetic opponents.

In the beginning of the 19th century the fervent dramatic poet V.A. Ozerov evoked patriotic feelings of all layers of the Russian society by his “Dmitry Donskoy” that appeared in the epoch of the Napoleonic wars. Such actors of the Petersburg stage as Alexey Yakovlev (Dmitry Donskoy) and Yekaterina Semenova (Ksenia) had been starring in this tragedy. But it was somewhat later, when A. Pushkin’s Boris Godunov and after that A. Tolstoy’s Death of Joann the Terrible, Tzar Feodor Joannovich, and Tzar Boris became the true historical tragedies.

Gradually, not only the legendary and boyar Russia became the object of theatre performances: the eighteenth century had penetrated the stage. The first Russian actors, Peter the Great’s supporters, the magnificent Catherine’s Court, Suvorov’s campaigns, Pugachev’s rebellion brought into life new theatre characters. Soon the Alexandrinsky Stage turned to personification of the recent historical past, practically embracing the modern realities of that time.

The theatre, reflecting the real life, tried to replicate and recreate the corresponding epoch with its mode, everyday life’s details and specifics, with characteristics for the epoch costumes and accessories. In the two and a half centuries of the Petersburg dramatic stage’s existence, the Alexandrinsky Theatre has accumulated a huge baggage - the most precious collection of material culture items of various epochs; this allows us to reproduce various historical era’s on the stage. This collection of costumes, furniture, essentials and properties is enormous. It totals in hundreds and thousands of items. There are objects from various, sometimes famous and even legendary performances created after sketches of prominent theatre artists, personal costumes in which theatre coryphaeus such as M. Savina and K. Varlamov, Yu. Yuriev and V. Davydov, N. Simonov and H. Cherkasov had been performing in…

All these things had been stored in the costume and furniture/property shops rooms up until recently; presently, this has been turned into the theatre’s museum collection. The goal of this exposition that is currently brought to your attention is to show these unique exhibit items. Exhibits are put together in accordance with topical principle. We tried to present to you the way the Alexandrinsky’s actors were “performing” the Russian history, the way they had been restoring Russiaща that period, the way they looked in the 18th century costumes, and the way the audience could be seen from the stage as described by N. Gogol in his famous Public Going Home after the First Night of a New Comedy. With the help of the objects and costumes we are trying to show impersonation of the Nicholas’ epoch on the stage, the epoch of the deadly conflict with such bright and creative personalities as Alexander Pushkin and Mikhail Lermontov. Museum visitors should be able to see how the theatre reflected the world of Gogol’s characters, how Turgenev’ artistic and real stories were impersonated by the Alexandrinsky’s actors. The invaluable collection of costumes and furniture created after A. Golovin’s sketches for the immortal performances of Vs. Meyerhold Don Juan and The Masquerade staged in the 1910s will be presented to your attention. And last but not least, we will focus your attention on the three great performances of the Soviet epoch: M. Bulgakov’s Flight, A. Afinogenov’s Horror, and Vs. Vishnevsky’s Optimistic tragedy.

The world of Russian drama will appear in the material evidences of the great spiritual revelations which impressed their witnesses with the famous Alexandrinsky’s actors dressed in the costumes of various epochs on the Russian history.


The Boyar Hall

Read more

Gogol’s Hall

Read more

Golovin’s Hall

Read more

The 18th Century Hall

Read more

The Emperor’s Hall

Read more

The Soviet Hall

Read more

Theatre Passing Place

Read more

Turgenev Hall

Read more

The exhibit is open for visitors before the performance begins and during the intermission.
The admission cost without the excursion service – 50 roubles.
To book a museum tour (by appointment):

+7 (812) 710-41-73, +7 (911) 142-01-09

at.historyguide@gmail.com





TOURS

Tours are available by appointment between performances and rehearsal times.

We bring to your attention that there may be some changes in the planned tour route, due to the inner working process of the theatre.

Tours are arranged for organised groups including from 15 up to 20 people.

To book group tours:
+7 (812) 710-41-76, +7 (911) 142-01-09;
e-mail: at.historyguide@gmail.com

The Alexandrinsky Theatre

The splendid Alexandrinsky Theatre

The splendid Alexandrinsky Theatre

A tour around the interiors of the Alexandrinsky Theatre and the display of the Museum of Russian Drama

Age group: adults, students, high school students
Tour duration: 1.5 hour

The Alexandrinsky theatre, the oldest state theatre of our country once was the main imperial stage of Russia. The magnificent building, erected as per design of the celebrated architect K.I.Rossi, still lets one to feel the atmosphere of the splendid and magnificent imperial theatre.

While being on tour, the guests of the theatre will have an opportunity to walk along the Equipage hall, where wonderful carriages made a stop; to visit Spectators’ and Tsar’s lobby and admire the superb Audience hall. We offer our guests to get into the secret life of the theatre, usually hidden from audience’s eyes. Visitors will be let into the secret of the Tsar’s Box and the Private Box of Nicholas I, they will learn about amazing discoveries, found under the floor of the auditorium during the reconstruction in 2006. They will also visit the acoustic tube and hear numerous legends of the theatre.

Thanks to the stage costumes and items of theatre daily routine presented in the Museum of Russian Drama, great performances of the Alexandrinsky Theatre will come alive in visitors’ imagination: superb Don Juan, brilliant and tragic Masquerade by V.E.Meyerkhold and A.Y.Golovin and many others. During the tour visitors learn about the theatre repertoire in the 19th and 20th centuries, they will see dresses from the private wardrobe of actresses, overcoats of theatre doorkeepers, antique tickets and sketches to famous performances.

Historical tour to the world of the
Alexandrinsky Theatre

Historical tour to the world of the Alexandrinsky Theatre

Interactive educational tour

Age group: children of primary and secondary school

Tour duration: 1-1.5 hour

We invite you to the Alexandrinsky Theatre!

However, that’s not a performance...

During our tour around the theatre we will see the costumes of the theatre heroes, their swords and epees, hand fans, masks and shoes, pies and oranges. We will walk on the roof of the auditorium and along the luxurious Tzar Lobby! Also we will learn to tell props apart and you will learn how the theatrical heroic shields are made and how to transform toy jewellery into real gold…

Theatre in pajamas

Театра в пижаме Theatre in pajamas: play tour into the hidden world of theatre

Age group: children of preschool age (4-6 years old).

Tour duration: 1 hour.

Everybody knows that the first and real host of the Alexandrinsky Theatre is Emperor Nicholas I. How come that you still haven’t met him? Then you definitely should pay us a visit! An amazing walk with the Tsar around his favourite theatre is waiting for you. You will learn what a theatre is, how the Emperor played hide-and-seek here, why theatre clutches are always so small, what does a mysterious word “emploi” mean and if a rabbit has it or not. We can touch the star and make wishes. And, if we are lucky, we will see the auditorium…in pajamas!

Theatrical and cultural complex “Alexandrinsky”

New Stage of the Alexandrinsky Theatre or Theatre of the 21st century

New Stage of the Alexandrinsky Theatre or Theatre of the 21st century New Stage of the Alexandrinsky Theatre or Theatre of the 21st century: tour around the theatrical and cultural complex “Alexandrinsky”

Age group: adults, students, high school students.
Tour duration: 1 hour.

The new theatrical and cultural complex “Alexandrinsky” opened in May 2013. It is a unique multifunctional theatrical centre. This event marks a new stage in the history of the oldest national theatre of Russia.

We invite you on the tour, during which the visitors of the theatre will have an opportunity to see around the unusual layout of the building complex from the different points of view; you will learn how a modern building coexists with a building of the 19th and 20th centuries; why does a modern theatre needs its own sound and video recording studio and what an online-theatre and chromakey are. And, most importantly, you will see the stage that gives an opportunity for theatrical experiments and allows you to look into the world of the theatrical future.

How is the new Alexandrinsky Theatre organised?

How is the new Alexandrinsky Theatre organised? Sightseeing interactive tour

Age group: secondary school (8-12 years old).
Tour duration: 1.5 hour.

What is the connection between the theatrical and cultural complex and the Alexandrinsky Theatre and why was it was built here? Is there tiered stalls and where are they? Why does a modern theatre need its own television studio where movies are shot, and can a movie live inside a performance?
When inside the ultramodern theatrical space, children will have time to examine it thoroughly, find answers to these and other quite difficult questions and solve a real QR-crossword…


Sign up for a tour

Музей

В пространстве третьего яруса Александринского театра находится уникальная экспозиция, посвященная истории старейшей драматической труппы России - Музей русской драмы.

В восьми залах представлены сценические костюмы, мебель и реквизит, созданные по эскизам выдающихся художников — Головина, Билибина, Альтмана и других.

Экспозиция открылась в 2006 году в пространстве третьего яруса Александринского театра. Автор концепции — советник художественного руководителя театра, д.иск., профессор А.А. Чепуров. Дизайн-проект М.В. Дынай.

В восьми залах представлены уникальные сценические костюмы, декорации, мебель, реквизит из спектаклей XIX-ХХ вв., созданные по эскизам выдающихся театральных художников: А.Я.Головина, И.Я.Билибина, Н.И.Альтмана, Н.П.Акимова, В.В.Дмитриева, Г.П.Руди, М.Ф.Китаева и др. В числе спектаклей: «Борис Годунов» А.С.Пушкина (1934) и «Петр Первый» А.Н.Толстого (1935) в постановке Б.М.Сушкевича, «Суворов» И.В.Бахтерева и А.В.Разумовского (режиссер А.А.Музиль, 1939), «Гамлет» У.Шекспира (режиссёр Г.М.Козинцев, 1954), «Ревизор» Н.В.Гоголя (1836, 1897, 1936), «Похождения Чичикова, или Мёртвые души» (режиссер Н.М.Шейко, 1974), «Дворянское гнездо» И.С.Тургенева (режиссер А.А.Музиль, 1941), «Великий государь» В.А.Соловьева (режиссер Л.С.Вивьен, 1945), «Оптимистическая трагедия» Вс.Вишневского (реж. Г.А.Товстоногов, 1955), «Бег» М.А.Булгакова (режиссер Л.С.Вивьен, 1958), «Дон Жуан» Мольера (1910) и «Маскарад» М.Ю.Лермонтова (1917) в постановке Вс.Э.Мейерхольда; спектакли о жизни русских писателей: («Болдинская осень» Ю.М.Свирина, режиссер Р.А.Горяев, 1969), «Лермонтов» Б.А.Лавренёва, режиссер Б.М.Дмоховский, 1953); «Элегия» П.Павловского — по письмам И.С. Тургенева к Савиной, режиссер И.С.Ольшвангер, 1975).

Русский театр с самого начала своего существования стремился отобразить на своей сцене яркие страницы отечественной истории. Первые русские актеры выходили на подмостки в ролях легендарных киевских князей и варяжских прародителей русской монархической династии. Кий, Хорев, Рюрик, Синав и Трувор... Их воплощали в восемнадцатом веке Федор Волков и Иван Дмитревский, позже Петр Плавильщиков. Затем под пером первого русского драматурга А.П. Сумарокова на сцену пришел Димитрий Самозванец со своими сатрапами и гонителями. Вступившая в полемику с политическими и эстетическими оппонентами Екатерина Вторая, исполняя роль драматурга и режиссера русской императорской сцены, сотворила образ первого правителя-самодержца Олега.

В начале девятнадцатого века пламенный драматический поэт В.А. Озеров своим «Димитрием Донским» в эпоху наполеоновских войн всколыхнул патриотические чувства всех слоев российского общества. В этой трагедии блистали такие актеры петербургской труппы, как Алексей Яковлев (Димитрий Донской) и Екатерина Семенова (Ксения). Но подлинными историческим трагедиями стали несколько позже «Борис Годунов» А.С. Пушкина, а затем «Смерть Иоанна Грозного», «Царь Федор Иоаннович» и «Царь Борис» А.К. Толстого.

Постепенно не только легендарная и боярская Русь становились объектом театральных представлений. На сцену проникает и век восемнадцатый. Первые русские актеры, сподвижники Великого Петра, блистательный двор Екатерины, суворовские походы, пугачевский бунт вызывают к жизни новых театральных героев. Вскоре александринская сцена переходит к воплощению недавнего исторического прошлого, почти смыкающегося с современностью.

Театр, отображая жизнь, стремился воссоздать и соответствующую эпоху с ее укладом, бытовыми деталями и подробностями, с характерными для этой эпохи костюмами и аксессуарами. За два с половиной века существования петербургской драматической сцены Александринский театр накопил огромный багаж, ценнейшую коллекцию предметов материальной культуры различных эпох, которая позволяет сегодня смоделировать на сцене различные исторические времена. Коллекции костюмов, мебели, реквизита и бутафории в Александринском театре огромны. Они насчитывают сотни и тысячи предметов. Среди них вещи из различных, порой знаменитых и даже легендарных спектаклей, созданные по эскизам знаменитых театральных художников, именные костюмы, в которых выступали на сцене такие корифеи театра как М.Г. Савина и К.А. Варламов, Ю.М. Юрьев и В.Н. Давыдов, Н.К. Симонов и Н.К. Черкасов...

Все это хранилось в фондах костюмерного и мебельно-реквизиторского цехов, а ныне стало музейной коллекцией театра. Показать зрителям эти уникальные предметы — задача представленной вашему вниманию экспозиции. Экспонаты сгруппированы по тематическому принципу. Нам хотелось представить, как Александринские актеры «играли» русскую историю. Как они воссоздавали боярскую Русь, как выглядели они в костюмах восемнадцатого века, как смотрелась в зеркале сцены зрительская толпа, запечатленная Н.В. Гоголем в его знаменитом «Театральном разъезде после представления новой комедии». С помощью предметов и костюмов мы стремимся показать, как воплотилась на сцене николаевская эпоха, вступившая в непримиримый конфликт с такими яркими творческими личностями, как А.С. Пушкин и М.Ю. Лермонтов. Посетители экспозиции смогут увидеть, как театр отображал мир гоголевских персонажей, как тургеневские художественные и жизненные сюжеты воплотились благодаря актерам Александринки. Перед вами предстанет бесценная коллекция костюмов и мебели, созданной по эскизам А.Я. Головина к бессмертным спектаклям Вс. Мейерхольда «Дон Жуан» и «Маскарад», поставленным в 1910-е годы. И, наконец, на двух великих спектаклях советской эпохи — «Беге» М. Булгакова и «Оптимистической трагедии» Вс. Вишневского сосредоточим мы ваше внимание.

Мир русской драмы предстанет в материальных свидетельствах тех великих духовных откровений, которыми потрясали зрителей прославленные александринцы, одеваясь в костюмы различных эпох отечественной истории.


Боярский зал

Читать далее

Гоголевский зал

Читать далее

Головинский зал

Читать далее

Зал XVIII века

Читать далее

Императорский зал

Читать далее

Советский зал

Читать далее

Театральный разъезд

Читать далее

Тургеневский зал

Читать далее

Экспозиция открыта для посетителей перед началом спектакля и в антракте.
Стоимость билета без экскурсионного обслуживания — 50 рублей.
Заказ экскурсий по музею — по предварительной записи:

+7 (812) 710-41-73, +7 (911) 142-01-09

at.historyguide@gmail.com





Экскурсии

Экскурсионное обслуживание осуществляется по предварительной записи, в свободное от спектаклей и репетиций время.

Обращаем Ваше внимание на то, что в запланированном экскурсионном маршруте могут быть изменения, связанные с внутренним рабочим процессом театра.

Экскурсии проводятся для организованных групп, группы формируются от 15 до 20 человек.

По вопросам заказа экскурсий обращайтесь:
+7 (812) 710-41-76, +7 (911) 142-01-09;
e-mail: at.historyguide@gmail.com

Александринский театр

Блистательный Александринский театр

Блистательный Александринский театр

Экскурсия по интерьерам Александринского театра и экспозиции Музея русской драмы

Возрастная аудитория: взрослые, студенты, старшеклассники.
Продолжительность экскурсии: 1,5 часа.

Александринский театр, старейший государственный театр нашей страны, некогда был главной императорской сценой России. Величественное здание, возведенное по проекту прославленного архитектора К.И. Росси, до сих пор позволяет прочувствовать атмосферу блистательного и роскошного императорского театра. 

Во время экскурсии гостям театра представится возможность пройтись по Каретной галерее, где когда-то останавливались великолепные экипажи; посетить Зрительское и Царское фойе; полюбоваться роскошным Зрительным залом. Мы предлагаем гостям проникнуть в секретную жизнь театра, обычно скрытую от глаз зрителей. Экскурсанты будут посвящены в тайны Царской ложи и Личной ложи императора Николая.I, узнают об удивительных находках, обнаруженных под полом зрительного зала во время реконструкции в 2006-м году, посетят акустическую трубу, услышат многочисленные театральные легенды. 

Благодаря представленным в Музее русской драмы сценическим костюмам и предметам театрального быта, в воображении экскурсантов оживут великие спектакли Александринского театра: роскошный «Дон Жуан», блестящий и трагический «Маскарад» В.Э. Мейерхольда и А.Я. Головина и многие другие. В ходе экскурсии посетители узнают о репертуаре театра XIX и XX веков, увидят платья из личного гардероба актрис, шинели театральных швейцаров, старинные билеты и эскизы к знаменитым спектаклям.

Историческое путешествие в мир
Александринского театра

Историческое путешествие в мир Александринского театра

Интерактивная образовательная экскурсия

Возрастная аудитория: дети младшего и среднего школьных возрастов.

Продолжительность экскурсии: 1 — 1,5 часа.

Приглашаем вас в Александринский театр!

Однако, не на спектакль... 

Во время нашего путешествия по театру мы увидим костюмы театральных героев, их мечи и шпаги, веера, маски и туфельки, пироги и апельсины. Пройдем по потолку зрительного зала, и по роскошному царскому фойе! А также научимся отличать бутафорию от реквизита, узнаем, из чего на самом деле делают театральные богатырские щиты и как превратить игрушечные драгоценности в настоящее золото...

Театр в пижаме 

Театра в пижаме Игровая экскурсия в тайный мир театра

Возрастная аудитория: дети дошкольного возраста (4-6 лет).

Продолжительность экскурсии: 1 час.

Всем известно, что первый и самый настоящий хозяин Александринского театра — император Николай I. Как, вы с ним не знакомы? Тогда непременно приходите к нам в гости! Вас ждет удивительная прогулка с царем-батюшкой по его самому любимому театру. Вы узнаете, что такое театр, как император играл здесь в прятки, почему театральные сумочки всегда такие маленькие, что означает загадочное слово «амплуа» и есть ли оно у зайца. Мы сумеем прикоснуться к звезде и обязательно загадаем желания. А если повезет, увидим зрительный зал... в пижаме!

Театрально-культурный комплекс «Александринский»

Новая сцена Александринского театра или театр XXI века

Новая сцена Александринского театра или театр XXI века Экскурсия по Театрально-культурному комплексу «Александринский»

Возрастная аудитория: взрослые, студенты, старшеклассники.
Продолжительность экскурсии: 1 час.

В мае 2013 года в Санкт-Петербурге открылся новый Театрально-культурный комплекс «Александринский» — уникальный многофункциональный театральный центр. Этим событием знаменуется новый этап в истории старейшего национального театра России. 

Приглашаем Вас на экскурсию, во время которой гостям театра представится возможность осмотреть необычное в планировке здание комплекса с разных точек зрения; узнать, как на одной территории современная постройка уживается со зданием рубежа XIX-XX веков; зачем современному театру своя студия звуко- и видеозаписи, что такое online-театр и хромакей. А самое главное, Вы увидите сцену, дающую возможность для театральных экспериментов и позволяющую заглянуть в мир театрального будущего.

Как устроен новый Александринский театр?

Как устроен новый Александринский театр? Обзорная интерактивная экскурсия

Возрастная аудитория: дети среднего школьного возраста (8-12 лет).
Продолжительность экскурсии: 1,5 часа.

Каким образом Театрально-культурный комплекс связан с Александринским театром и почему он появился именно на этом месте? Есть ли здесь амфитеатр и где он прячется? Зачем современному театру своя телестудия, как снимают фильмы, и может ли фильм жить внутри спектакля?
Попав в сверхсовременное театральное пространство, ребятам предстоит его внимательного исследовать, найти ответы на эти и другие весьма непростые вопросы и разгадать самый настоящий QR-кроссворд...